- By: Gary Cooke, Cabinet Member for Corporate and Democratic Services Ben Watts, General Counsel (Interim)
- To: County Council 20 October 2016
- Subject: Appointment of Independent Member Remuneration Panel from 1 November 2016

## 1. Interviewing Panel

(1) Following a public advertisement on the County Council website, three Honorary Alderman, comprising Mr L Christie, Mr R Tolputt and Mrs A J Wainman, OBE, (as nominated by the three Group Leaders who have Honorary alderman who were formerly within their political Group), shortlisted and then interviewed nine candidates for the three vacant Independent Member Remuneration Panel positions.

(2) At the conclusion of the interviews, the Panel unanimously agreed to recommend to the County Council that Mr Ghualam Khan, Ms Margaret Ryder and Mr Stephen Wiggett be appointed to the County Council's Independent Member Remuneration Panel for the period 1 November 2016 to 31 October 2020.

(3) A copy of the recommended candidates' application forms are available on request.

## 2. Recommendation

The County Council is invited to consider the recommendation of the Panel of Honorary Aldermen and appoint Mr Ghualam Khan, Ms Margaret Ryder and Mr Stephen Wiggett as the new members of the new Independent Remuneration Panel for a four year term, from 1 November 2016 to 31 October 2020.

Paul Wickenden Democratic Services Manager (Members) 03000 416836 paul.wickenden@kent.gov.uk